top of page

FOLLOW ME:

RECENT POSTS: 

  • Goodreads
  • Twitter Social Icon

Secrets of Skin and Stone by Wendy Laine

Synopsis

Something is wrong in Hidden Creek. The sleepy Alabama town is more haunted than any place fiend hunter Grisham Caso has ever seen. Unearthed graves, curse bags, and spilled blood all point to an evil that could destroy his gargoyle birthright. The town isn’t safe for anyone, and everyone says fiery Piper Devon knows why. Piper wants to leave Hidden Creek behind. She’s had enough of secrets—they hide in the shadows of her room and tell her terrible things are coming. Too-charming city boy Grisham might be her only chance to save herself. To survive, Piper and Grisham have to shed their secrets and depend only on each other. But what lurks in Hidden Creek still might take everything away from them, including each other.

 

My Review

Firstly I need to mention the amazing cover. Wow! The cover drew me in and though I never judge a book by its cover, once I read the synopsis I was excited to see what this tale had to offer.

Secrets of Skin and Stone is an enjoyable interesting story, I found it original in its concept. Gris, a Watcher or gargoyle, who fights and destroys fiends. I have not read other stories featuring gargoyles and I found this an unusual but good twist. As did Piper! We start this story with foul happenings, people doing strange things, missing teenagers and Piper's dog killed. Enter Gris, sent to Hidden Creek to fight the influx of fiends that have gathered and work out why. When Gris is pointed in the direction of Piper, an outsider in Hidden Creek, a fragile friendship begins and quickly turns to romance when together they learn to trust one another and try and solve the mystery of who killed her dog.

There are many elements to this tale, I loved the mystery and at times the dark places this story takes you. It is a complex tale with equally troubled and intriguing characters. Yes, some things are a little predictable but that didn't take away from my enjoyment of the story.

It would be wrong of me if I did not mention Piper and her complexity. I found it brave of the writer to go into such detail about this characters self-harming, expressing her emotions and reasoning while neither shaming, encouraging or glorifying it. I found it really enhanced the story and the connection I felt to Piper.

Twist and turns in this tale keep you turning the page, it is a well written and an intriguing story with a good balance of romance and supernatural happenings. I found Piper especially intriguing, she isn't the usual leading lady in YA stories and it was a refreshing change.

Interestingly there are two other books written for this series that may or may not be published, depending on the reception Secrets of Skin and Stone. But do not worry, this story does not end on a cliffhanger and ties things up nicely so if you want an enjoyable read that could lead to a new and exciting book series, this book is for you.

 

Thank you for visiting and reading A Tale or Two Reviews.

Jasmine


SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page