top of page

FOLLOW ME:

RECENT POSTS: 

  • Goodreads
  • Twitter Social Icon

The Avalonia Chronicles by Farah Oomerbhoy

My Review

I have to start off by saying this series is amazing. I was looking for a book to fill the

The Last of the Firedrakes Book 1

void Empire of Storms by Sarah J Mass had left and stumbled upon this book and I decided to give it a try. I'm so glad I did. Just WOW! From the cover, the writing, characters, magic, twist and turns, I just loved everything about. The story follows Aurora, a young girl plunged into a world she never knew existed and finds herself with powers she has no idea how to control and heir to the Kingdom of Illiador, currently ruled by Morgana, her power hungry Aunt. With friends by her side and enemies at every corner she learns about this amazing new world, her extrodainry powers and finds her heart yearning for a certain masked Mage.

This story had me hooked from the very beginning and I could not put it down. It captivated my imagination and Farah through the pages of this book really transported me to another world. The fabulous description of the world, the school, the markets and houses in trees- my imagination ran wild in imagining the beauty. When I turned the final page I was so very eager to get my hands on the second book, The Rise of the Dawnstar, and luck would have it I managed to get my hands on an early release copy thanks to Netgalley and WOW WOW WOW.

Farah managed to top the first book with ease. The Rise of the Dawnstar plunges further into this amazing world, Aurora is embracing who she is and learning how to control her power and form alliances to help defeat Morgana. We see betrayal, love, uneasy friendships and a girl becoming who she is born to be. I absolutely loved

The Rise of the Dawnstar Book 2

The Rise of the Dawnstar, it surpassed all my expectations. It is a magically woven tale that just wouldn't let me go and the ending had my mouth gaping and my heart aching. Because of course through this series Aurora has caught the attention of the male variety, first Rafe who is roguishly handsome and ready to save Aurora at the drop of a hat and then, in the second instalment we meet Tristan.

Oh Tristan, I can not help but love Tristan, he doesn't coddle Aurora in fact he is harsh and tough, making Aurora the warrior she needs to be so she can save herself. I think that is what I love, men don't need to save woman all the time, we can save ourselves given the proper tools and that is what Tristan does, gives Aurora the skill and courage to save herself.

Overall I highly recommend this series, I thoroughly enjoyed everything about it. Aurora is the perfect leading lady, not to much whining, lots of courage and the drive to fight for herself and for what is right, in whatever situation. She acts true to her age, and sometimes even older and wiser than that of a teenager. I really enjoyed getting to know her and this amazing exciting new world and as she grows as a character I like her more and more. There is so much adventure and magic, and of course Fae (I love Fae!) that this really won't leave you bored and boy oh boy the ending of The Rise of the Dawnstar is bitter sweet and left me unsure of what Aurora truly wants, though she probably doesn't know herself. I can not wait for the next instalment, I'm as excited for it as I am for the next book in the Throne of Glass series.

Big big stars and love for this series, Farah Oomerbhoy is an absolutely amazing author and I can not wait to read more by her.

 

Quotes

Because I love love love quotes...

“When difficulties come, we must see them as what they are—opportunities and a new path to discover your potential. How will you ever know the magnitude of courage you are capable of if you have never experienced the hopelessness of fear?”

- Farah Oomerbhoy, The Last of the Firedrakes

“I had to stop running. I had to turn and face my life head on. It wasn’t enough being like everybody else; I had to be the best, and I was going to show everyone what I was truly made of. I was done with being a terrified princess, constantly waiting to be saved. I was going to be a queen, and, like Vivienne said, I had better start behaving like one.”

-Farah Oomerbhoy, The Last of the Firedrakes

"...Faith is the greatest magic of all. It can lift the world out of the darkness and bring it into the light. Be the Star of the Morning, the light that fills the world with magic. Be the Lightbringer, the Breaker of Shadows. Believe in yourself, Aurora Firedrake; believe in the Dawnstar. For if you have faith, anything is possible.”

-Farah Oomerbhoy, The Rise of the Dawnstar

 

Thank you for visiting A Tale or Two Reviews, I hope if you read the books you enjoy them as much as I did and hopefully I haven't given to much away.

Jasmine


SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page