top of page

FOLLOW ME:

RECENT POSTS: 

  • Goodreads
  • Twitter Social Icon

Across the Darkling Sea by K. Ferrin

Synopsis

Magic is forbidden in Brielle, but that never stopped Evelyn. Until Now. Because Evelyn has discovered she is magic, and now she is running for her life.

Her only hope is on an island cloaked in shadow, an island of dark magic and even darker beasts. An island warlocks call home. Evelyn's friends have turned against her, her own mother tried to kill her, and the place she calls home has banished her. Hidden away in the belly of a riverboat, a stowaway, her journey begins...

My Review

We are never supposed to judge a book by it's cover but honestly its the first thing you see and this cover drew me in, then reading the synopsis I knew I had to read it.

Across the Darkling Sea follows Evelyn, or Ling as she calls herself. It begins very faced paced, Evelyn learning that she isn't in-fact Evelyn but a Changeling created by a warlock named Grag. For five years she lives the same day, unaware that everything has changed, or more accurately she isn't actually Evelyn. Given the memories of the girl she was created to look like, she realises -after her mother tries to kill her hoping to awake her real daughter- Ling, as she names herself, knows that she needs to bring Evelyn back and the only way Evelyn will awaken is if she finds Grag and ask him to unmake her. So begins the adventure. Fleeing Brielle she begins her journey with a grimoire given to her by Witch so she can write down all her memories, her only life line to the truth, as each morning she wakes remembering nothing of the day before.

So, not a very easy plot line to explain but it makes much more sense in the book, honestly!

This book is steadily paced with enough action to keep reading but with plenty of description as Ling ventures her way to Dreggs in search of her maker. Its an intriguing tale, and Evelyn/Ling is a well rounded character and though not human in terms of not needing to breathe, eat etc she still has very human emotions. A big part of her journey is not just the physical but the emotional which K. Ferrin writes beautiful. One girls struggle with who -or what- she is and her bravery, courage and selflessness in trying to find the man who created her so she can be unmade.

All the characters in this book were well written, some I can't wait to see more of. For instance the intriguing and slightly unsettling Fariss. He I can imagine will be playing a big part in the series to come. Captain Drake is another character I thought was very well written and I look forward to seeing if Evelyn/Ling will be meeting her again. Lastly, Dreskin who is a very minor character in this book but I hope we get to see more of him later on. After helping Ling and seemingly not caring that she is a changeling, I can only think we haven't seen the last of him.

Overall Across the Darkling Sea was an enjoyable tale. The beginning of what I can only imagine will be an amazing series. I must warn you though if you hope for a conclusion maybe wait for more of the series to come out as this, book one, ends just as she nears the warlock Grag and though I enjoyed this story, I was a little disappointed with the seemingly abrupt ending. But, I am sure that this book was just a taste of what is to come...

-I received an ARC of this book from netgalley in return for an honest review-

 

Thank you for visiting my blog and I hope you enjoy this story if you decide to give it a go.

Jasmine

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page